The Food Court? BRING IT!

Apparently, I am a blogging fool at the moment.  Each day I feel compelled to share some obstacle or wee triumph I got through during the day.  And today is no exception.  I guess I will ride this wave for as long as it lasts!

We went out today for a couple of appointments.  Right next to the mall.  Appointments that wrapped up just a bit after lunchtime.  Which means, we didn’t have lunch at the normal time and were getting pretty hungry by the time we were done and decided to check out the mall (yes, that’s right folks!  I remembered to eat today!!).  You know, the mall….it has a food court.  Aaaaahhhhhh!!!!  And I was really hungry at this point.

The food Court was packed!

Not our food court, but you get the picture. (Pun toootally intended!)

But again…another day of being surprised!  The smells and aromas wafted, flowed and wrapped themselves around me, trying to tempt, coax and lull me into a sense of “wellll…I can just make up for it by eating only celery for supper tonight…because, hey, no matter how many points I eat now, celery is 0 points…so I should just go for it” [cue salivation here…but not for celery].  Luckily for me, whenever I looked at what are usually tempting choices, I was overcome with a sense of “meh” and nothing really got me excited.  The Thai fast food joint wasn’t reeeally that authentic; the “southern food” place had really disgusting looking Chinese food type of fare so the confusion between their marketing and the actual food just turned me off; the actual Chinese food place was slightly tempting until I saw the fried rice that was clearly boiled; the Japanese food place that touts itself as “Made in Japan” where no one was Japanese, and the food, while an interesting twist on Japanese food, was most certainly not dishes found or made in Japan; A&W and KFC were just out of the question (bleeech); which left the healthier choices.  I really wanted to get something from the Mediterranean or Greek place, but then remembered that I would have no clue how many points those were with WW and had no way to measure the food.  Sooo…I went to Subway and rocked it with a 6″ turkey sub combo…cleverly choosing apples instead of chips or cookies, thank-you-very-much!  I knew the points for that and was very happily full by the end!  Not only that, I was blown away by (and frankly, confused by) my lack of interest in the sinful food!

Seafood and Tofu Don - Uchiwa Japanese Cuisine

Not quite Japanese, but looks tasty just the same!

Just so pleased with myself for dodging the dietary bullets again today and making some smart choices that didn’t cause me to feel like I was giving anything up!!  Wheeee!!!  (Happy dance!)

Oh, and that pedometer shenanigans?  Hit the 10,000 mark today!  Booyah!  (Does anyone actually still say that?)  Although I have a sneaking suspicion that a couple of hundred steps registered as a result of our very jerky bus ride (yeah, that’s right, we don’t have a car.  sad sigh.)…but we shall just let that slide this time…

And finally, going to put these pics up so as to be able to take a look back and see where I started because I am bound and determined to make it history…and keep it there.

Me3 Me2 Me

 

About koyoandi

Gifted napper, aspiring billionaire, known to occasionally run with scissors, working on New Year Resolution to be 25% more awesome.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Health and Fitness, Healthy Eating, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice Job on the 10,000 steps and the healthy decisions!

  2. Great job Andrea! Love reading your blog. Keep up the great work!

Weigh in

Searching For The Happiness

The search for what makes us happy

TableforMaple

Chartered Accountant, Hobby Barista & Blogger. Occasionally quirky & Maple is seriously my real name.

Fat2Fit2Fabulous

Let the transformation begin!

Searching for the Happiness

The search for what really makes us happy.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

VEGERITA!

Weight Loss, Fitness, Healthy & Vegetarian Living!

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

ProjectEatMe

Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

southbeached

My personal revolution via the South Beach Diet

lucinda sans

One woman's meanderings around gorgeousness, health and organised living.

Oh!Bento

Bento pictures, tutorials, reviews and where to buy in the UK!

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

From Lips to the Hips

If we wait until we're ready, we'll be waiting for the rest of our lives. -Lemony Snicket

Andrea Danelak

A word nerd based in Winnipeg, Manitoba

