A Conundrum of Points

So, I’m still onboard with doing the Weight Watchers thang.  It is working great so far!  Almost too good.  Is it just me or are there like, 500 kazillion extra points to play with?  I have my daily allotment, which is just great for me, actually!  There are occasionally days where I have to figure what else I can eat to use them up.  But then, we get a weekly allotment of extra points.  For no apparent reason, from what I can figure out.

Wot??

Wot??

I did WW a little over 10 years ago, had a daily allotment of points and could earn extra through exercise.  I could use them sparingly day by day or even save those up to splurge big on one day.  Oh don’t get me wrong, those are still there!  I earn a few every day.  I walk a lot.  Especially yesterday, when I went to Toronto for the day.  For fun.  Because I love walking around for an entire sunless day in the freezing cold, wondering if my nose has turned black from frostbite yet, holding my breath so much as I walk by the frequent groups of smokers huddled together shivering on their breaks getting their fix, that I might pass out from lack of oxygen; all in the name of fun, spontaneous city exploration looking for adventure around the next corner, thinking I should have done this in the summer instead, moron that I am…

But I digress…

What was I saying??

Oh yes…so I get extra points for exercise.  I earned about 100 kajillion yesterday (a good fraction of 500 kazillion) from walking for nearly 4 hours (I was an honest little Do-Bee and subtracted for time that I sat for lunch and sat on a park bench on Toronto Island, on Wards Island, wondering how the ducks can stand to be in that water).

English: Beach Ward's Island Toronto Islands 2009

This is the beach.  (On Ward’s Island, to be exact.)

This is the beach on drugs. Any questions?

This is the beach on drugs.
Any questions?

But I still have my weekly no-reason-at-all tally on top of that.  I guess they have figured out the regular points in a way that the extra make sense?  I don’t know how the math on that works.  What I do know, is if I were to use the free extra points and the earned extra points, I’m pretty sure I would have already gained about 10 kajillion pounds by now.  And another thing I know is, if I get to smaller sizes with this kind of eating, I am going to be thrrriiilllled!!!

So, for now, I am sticking strictly to the regular daily allotment and will consider any exercise a great contribution to the cause.  Just wondering, folks out there, have you done it or are you doing it now?  (WW, I mean!)  Would love to know your thoughts and input!

Alas.  Wasn't much of a cheeseburger eater, but symbolism, guys.

Alas. Wasn’t much of a cheeseburger eater, but symbolism, guys.

About koyoandi

Gifted napper, aspiring billionaire, known to occasionally run with scissors, working on New Year Resolution to be 25% more awesome.

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have been doing WW off and on for a couple years now, and I tally up my activity points but I don’t often use them. The main reason for me personally not to use em, is because at over 225 lbs ( and was as high as 245) I have soooooooo many points to eat. 45 at the moment. As you said, they are great for the splurge day or when you need em. Keep up the tracking and the exercise!

    • Thanks, Shane! I have 41. If I remember correctly, the older points system was set up so you really needed to try to use up your points each day. With the points on the newer system, it can be tough to reach them. Or if I eat something that I know is bad, I am still pretty safe for the rest of the day with all the extra points I could use. I guess, it is not so bad after all. I don’t feel that I am eating any differently but that I am paying more attention when I do eat. I guess that really is the name of the game, isn’t it?

Weigh in

Searching For The Happiness

The search for what makes us happy

TableforMaple

Chartered Accountant, Hobby Barista & Blogger. Occasionally quirky & Maple is seriously my real name.

Fat2Fit2Fabulous

Let the transformation begin!

Searching for the Happiness

The search for what really makes us happy.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

VEGERITA!

Weight Loss, Fitness, Healthy & Vegetarian Living!

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

ProjectEatMe

Tasty, Healthy, Fun Food

southbeached

My personal revolution via the South Beach Diet

lucinda sans

One woman's journey to gorgeousness, health and organised living.

Oh!Bento

Bento pictures, tutorials, reviews and where to buy in the UK!

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

From Lips to the Hips

If we wait until we're ready, we'll be waiting for the rest of our lives. -Lemony Snicket

Andrea Danelak

A word nerd based in Winnipeg, Manitoba

